MusicNational Music

Steve Howe offers statement on forthcoming album following the death of his son

On September 11th, Yes guitarist Steve Howe lost his youngest son, Virgil Howe, unexpectedly. Now, the musician has made a statement regarding the duo’s forthcoming album Nexus:

“Virgil and I had only recently completed recording ‘Nexus’, which contains eleven of his tunes to which I added a guitar to suit each one. We delivered it to InsideOutMusic in August for release on 17th November. We started to work together in 2016 by selecting about nine tunes from his ‘stockpile’ of piano based music that he’d periodically sent Jan & I each time he’d written and recorded a new idea. I began adding guitars to them, then I’d play them to Virgil. He’d then surprise me by bringing up other channels of instrumentation which I’d never heard. The tunes went from straightforward ‘duets’ to something bigger & better, more of a complete picture than a mere shape. “Free Fall” & “Nick’s Star” were added from earlier sessions, the latter being his tribute to the passing of his best friend Nick Hirsch.

‘Nexus’ explores a completely different side of Virgil’s ability, as a writer & keyboard player – ‘in his own right’. His talents were multi-diverse, so sitting at a keyboard & computer or in the middle of his drum kit, at all his regular DJ-ing gigs or on the radio, he always gave his best. We hope that the music just completed will stand as a fitting tribute to his life and legacy.”

The artwork for Nexus was created by Virgil’s 5-year-old daughter Zuni. Check it out below:

virgil and steve nexus


1. Nexus
2. Hidden Planet
3. Leaving Aurura
4. Nick’s Star
5. Night Hawk
6. Moon Rising
7. Passing Titan
8. Dawn Mission
9. Astral Plane
10. Infinite Space
11. Freefall

Nexus will be released November 17th.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *