Black Belt Eagle Scout announces debut album ‘Mother Of My Children’

Omaha-based label Saddle Creek Records has just shared news of their most recent singing. Lately, the label has been keen to sign up talented unsigned new artists like Stef Chura and Tomberlin. And now we can add Black Belt Eagle Scout to that good company.

Black Belt Eagle Scout have just announced that their debut full length Mother Of My Children will be out September 14 through Saddle Creek. The project is spearheaded by musician Katherine Paul who has used this album to share her personal experience as a “radical indigenous queer feminist.” In a press release, she has also shared some words about the creation of the album:

“I wrote this album in the fall of 2016 after two pretty big losses in my life. My mentor, Geneviève Castrée, had just died from pancreatic cancer and the relationship I had with the first woman I loved had drastically lessened and changed. [these songs] are about grief and love for  people, but also about being a native person in what is the United States today.”

Ahead of the album’s release, Black Belt Eagle Scout have also shared the album’s sprawling first single “Soft Stud.” It’s an ever-building track with a steady guitar melody that rolls headfirst into some incredible jam sections. You can check out that track down below along with the full album art and tracklist for Mother Of My Children.

01 Soft Stud
02 Indians Never Die
03 Keyboard
04 Mother of My Children
05 Yard
06 I Don’t Have You In My Life
07 Just Lie Down
08 Sam, A Dream

Pre-order Mother Of My Children right here.


Follow Black Belt Eagle Scout on their socials:

Facebook   Twitter   Instagram


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *