New band Frontperson announce debut album ‘Frontrunner,’ share first single

Frontperson is ready to make your list of albums to look for this year. The new duo features Kathryn Calder (The New Pornographers, Immaculate Machine) and  Mark Andrew Hamilton (Woodpigeon). Alongside their announcement as a band, they’ve also shared that their debut album Frontrunner is coming September 21.

Ahead of its release, Frontperson have shared their debut lead single “Tick-Tock (Frontrunner)” with an official video featuring some track and field footage. In fact, that track and field theme seems to be persistent with their music in general.

Mark Andrew Hamilton had this to say:

“About 20 years ago, a photographer friend of mine named Ambrose Fan gave me this incredible picture of a young girl with her fists clenched, getting ready to run a race at a track meet. I’ve lived in a lot of places since then, and this photo has always come with me. When we started recording at the National Music Centre – basically one of the world’s best keyboard museums where we had pretty much free reign over their incredible collections of synths and such – I put the photo on the recording console, and it stayed there for two weeks guiding the making of our record. Whenever someone would ask what sound we were going for, I’d just point at that picture.” 

And Kathryn Calder highlighted the photograph/album cover, saying “The photograph is now our record cover, it was the inspiration for our album name, and it’s still guiding this record, because we decided to use it as inspiration for the video for our first song, ‘Tick-Tock (Frontrunner).'”

Check out “Tick-Tock (Frontrunner)” right below here, and just beyond that you’ll find the album art and tracklist for Frontrunner.

01 U. O. I
02 Long Night
03 Tick – Tick (Frontrunner)
04 He Follows Me
05 Young Love
06 Shorter Days
07 This City Is Mine
08 Postcards From A Posh Man
09 Insight

Pre-order Frontrunner here.


Follow Frontperson on their socials:

Facebook   Twitter   Instagram   YouTube




Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *