Mitski announces new album ‘Be The Cowboy,’ shares new single

Mitski became one of the most talked about artists back in 2016 with her incredible album Puberty 2. That LP was actually Mitski’s fourth overall record, but its release caught the ears of tons of new listeners. Now she’s ready to follow it up with a new record titled Be The Cowboy, which is due out August 17 via Dead Oceans.

The new LP marks a slight shift in the way in which Mitski writes songs. Before, her albums seemed to be filled with personal, emotionally affecting stories. But for the new LP, she channeled a more fictional, narrative lyrically. Of the new record, she says that she imagined:

“a very controlled icy repressed woman who is starting to unravel. Because women have so little power and showing emotion is seen as weakness, this ‘character’ clings to any amount of control she can get. Still, there is something very primordial in her that is trying to find a way to get out.”

Alongside the album announcement, Mitski has also shared the first single (and opening track) from Be The Cowboy. The song is called “Geyser,” and appropriately contains a blast of sound at its center. It’s yet another excellent track in a catalog overflowing with excellent tracks. Already, the new LP looks to be one you need to keep your eyes and ears on come August.

Watch the official video for “Geyser” beneath these words. You’ll also find the album art and tracklist just beneath that.

01 Geyser
02 Why Didn’t You Stop Me
03 Old Friend
04 A Pearl
05 Lonesome Love
06 Remember My Name
07 Me and My Husband
08 Come Into the Water
09 Nobody
10 Pink in the Night
11 A Horse Named Cold Air
12 Washing Machine Heart
13 Blue Light
14 Two Slow Dancers

Be The Cowboy drops August 17. Pre-order it right here.


Follow Mitski on her socials:

Facebook   Twitter   Instagram



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *